We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What is the Spine?

By Shelby Miller
Updated Mar 03, 2024
Our promise to you
The Health Board is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At The Health Board, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The spine, alternately known as the vertebral column or backbone, is the structure that encloses and protects the spinal cord, which is the bundle of nerves that transmits signals from the brain to the rest of the body. It consists of a stack of bones — 33 vertebrae, the sacrum, and the coccyx — and the intervertebral discs separating the bones. The spine is subdivided into regions known as the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar, with the pelvic region containing the sacrum and coccyx considered a separate entity.

These regions are distinguished from one another according to several characteristics. One is where the curve of the backbone changes directions: The cervical spine curves outward, the thoracic curves inward, and the lumbar curves outward again. Another is the presence of the ribcage; the thoracic region is where the ribs attach to individual vertebrae. A third characteristic is whether the vertebrae can move relative to one another. The sacrum and coccyx, for instance, are actually both made up of several fused vertebrae, fused in that they are missing the intervertebral discs that absorb shock, hold the vertebrae together, and allow the vertebrae to move relative to one another.

In the cervical spine, identified as C1-C7, are seven vertebrae, the lower five of which are movable. The upper two, C1 and C2, are largely responsible for supporting the head — C1 is known as the atlas bone as a nod to the figure in Greek mythology who carried the weight of the world on his shoulders. Found mostly in the neck, the cervical vertebrae are the smallest individual vertebral bones. Several muscle groups and their corresponding ligaments attach to this section of the vertebral column, including the large trapezius, a muscle that shrugs the shoulders.

The 12 thoracic vertebrae are referred to as T1-T12 and are located in the upper back. Their most distinguishing characteristic is the presence of what are known as costal facets, which are the surfaces on each vertebra where ribs attach. Relative to the cervical vertebrae, the thoracic vertebrae are slightly larger and absorb slightly more weight. They also serve as a site of attachment for more muscles than the cervical vertebrae, including the trapezius, but also the rhomboids and the latissimus dorsi, the largest of the back muscles.

While there are only five vertebrae in the lumbar spine, these are the largest, absorbing much of the weight from the torso above them. They begin where the ribcage ends and as such have no costal facets. Easily vulnerable to injury, the lumbar vertebrae are surrounded by soft tissue only and are exposed not only to compression forces, but to forces acting on the body from several different directions. This is one reason why it is advised to strengthen the core muscles surrounding the lumbar region, particularly in individuals performing frequent and/or heavy lifting motions.

Finally, the base of the vertebral column is where the sacrum and coccyx are found. The sacrum consists of five fused vertebrae and is situated beneath the lumbar spine between the two hipbones, holding them together. Alternately known as the tailbone, the coccyx consists of four fused vertebrae, which like those of the sacrum grow consecutively smaller in shape as the backbone descends. The coccyx does not serve much of a function other than to act as a site of attachment for many muscles of the pelvic floor, although it does allow humans to balance in a sitting position while leaning backward.

The Health Board is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.