We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What are Chakra Symbols?

By Debra Durkee
Updated Mar 03, 2024
Our promise to you
The Health Board is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At The Health Board, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Chakra symbols, also called mandalas, are pictorial representations of each of the seven major chakras. Each symbol is different and is often portrayed in the color associated with the chakra. The symbols can be used as a reminder of the qualities that the individual is striving for or can decorate the stones used for meditation around the chakra.

The exact representation of the chakra can vary depending on the detail of the drawing and the individual using it. There is typically a general form for the symbol that is universal, which can then be embellished in different ways. The fifth chakra, also known as the third eye chakra, is often portrayed as a circle around a triangle with the tip pointing downward. Inside this triangle is another circle, or occasionally a decorative number three. Many illustrations embellish the outside of the symbol; there may be lotus petals around the outer rim of the circle, or another ring with smaller circles inside.

The portrayal of lotus flower petals around the outside of chakra symbols is a common one. Beginning with the root chakra, the lowest chakra on the human body, four petals typically surround the symbol. As the chakras get higher on the body, the number of petals increase until the crown chakra, depicted as having 1,000 petals.

Colors are often featured in illustrations of the chakra symbols. To make them more potent, symbols are typically done in the color they are associated with. The heart chakra is often done in green, while the distinctive lotus blossom, with 1,000 petals for the crown chakra, is usually done in violet or purple.

The chakras are closely linked with other types of symbols as well. Certain types of gemstones, usually corresponding to the colors of the chakras, can also be used in meditation as symbols of the chakra the individual is trying to focus. For example, the yellow solar plexus chakra is represented by yellow gemstones such as topaz and amber. These stones can be used in ways similar to the illustrated symbols.

Chakra symbols can be used in several ways. The stones will often be placed on corresponding areas of the body when used in meditation, as an aid to opening the chakra or focusing energy. They can also be emblazoned on articles of clothing as a reminder to focus on the areas of the chakra. Chakra symbols are also commonly seen as tattoos.

The Health Board is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.