We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What are the Different Chakra Colors?

By Amanda R. Bell
Updated Mar 03, 2024
Our promise to you
The Health Board is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At The Health Board, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

There are seven basic different chakra colors, each signifying a different idea or concept. These colors run in sections up the body and include red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and purple. In Hinduism, chakra colors represent energy that is believed to emanate from humans and control emotions and the body.

The base or root of the chakras is red, also known as muladhara. This color represents the grounding of the spirit to the earth and is believed to be responsible for feelings of inclusion and trust. In diagrams, the red chakra is located from the legs to the feet. The red chakra is believed to control the spine, immune system and lower body.

Orange is the second of the chakra colors and is sometimes called swadhisthana. Most commonly known for controlling fertility and sexuality, the orange chakra is also considered the center of creativity. It is located from the lower abdomen to the hips and is believed to control the sexual organs and intestines.

The yellow chakra is commonly called the solar plexus. Responsible for personal power and strength, this chakra is believed to be the source of a person's ability to achieve his or her goals. The third of the chakra colors is considered the energy that allows for cognitive understanding of emotional issues. In the physical sense, the solar plexus controls the upper abdomen, stomach, and the major organs in the area.

Green represents the heart chakra, which is also known as anahata. In modern variations of Hinduism, the green chakra may also be represented by the color pink. It controls not only feelings of love but also hate, as well as every emotion in between. The fourth of the chakra colors is believed to control the heart and blood in a person's body.

The throat and neck are believed to house the fifth chakra, represented by the color blue. Known as visuddha in Sanskrit, the blue chakra controls the neck, hands, and arms of the body. In Hinduism, the blue chakra is believed to only be in balance when a person is being honest; lying can have severe consequences on the physical health of this area.

Indigo, the color of the third eye, is located on the forehead. The sixth of the chakra colors is responsible for a person's connection to his or her subconscious as well as the connection with the universe as a whole. Sometimes written as ajna, the indigo chakra is responsible for intuition and can be thrown off balance by a lack of personal integrity.

Purple or violet represent the crown chakra, located at the very top of the head. Written as sahasrara in Sanskrit, this chakra is believed to be responsible for knowledge and a connection with a higher power. Imbalance of the last of the chakra colors is believed to effect every other chakra, thereby leading to a lack of peace in a person's life.

The Health Board is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.