We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Is the Umbilical Region?

By Andy Josiah
Updated Mar 03, 2024
Our promise to you
The Health Board is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At The Health Board, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The umbilical region is a term that anatomists use for describing the abdominal area around the navel of the human body. It is named after the navel’s clinical term, which is umbilicus, or the area from which the umbilical is severed after birth. Also known as the region umbilicalis, this region is usually split into nine sections.

Comprising most of the umbilical region is the abdomen, also known as the belly. In the cavity that the abdomen encloses, also known as the abdominal cavity, the umbilical region covers parts of or entire organs. These include the stomach, intestines, pancreas and kidney. This region is split in such a way that it produces three sections: an upper section, middle section and bottom section. Each of these sections is split into three parts, with the left and right parts flanking the middle.

The upper region consists of the left and right hypochondriac regions, which flank the epigastric region. The hypochondriac regions are named for their location at the hypochondrium, which is the upper part of the abdomen. The epigastric region gets its name for being positioned at the abdomen’s upper central region, or the epigastrium.

At the middle of the umbilical region are the left and right lumbar regions, located at the torso’s abdominal area. It is also where the lower spine is located, directly behind the abdominal cavity. Flanked by the lumbar sections is the umbilical region, which contains the navel itself.

The bottom part of the umbilical region consists of the left and right inguinal regions, as well as the hypogastric region. “Inguinal” is a reference to the bottom left and right sections located at the lower section of the abdomen, immediately above the groin. The hypogastric region is named after the hypogastrium, which is actually closer to the groin than the inguinal parts. It is usually described, however, as the middle section of the abdomen directly below the navel.

The umbilical region can also be topographically split into four sections, using a horizontal and a vertical line that cuts through the navel. This results in a top section, which consists of the right upper quadrant and left upper quadrant, and a lower section, which yield the right lower quadrant and left lower quadrant. This method of splitting, however, is less commonly used than the nine-section scheme.

The Health Board is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

The Health Board, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.